• Name:Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU)
  • Established in:1997 (Tohoku University has participated in since 2008 and served as a Steering Committee member since 2015.)
  • Member Institutions:50 Institutions from 16 countries/areas (as of Apr. 2018)
    …List of Member Institutions
  • Website:http://www.apru.org/

APRU was established in 1997 with the aim of fostering cooperation in education and research contributing to the economic, scientific and cultural advancement, and has grown rapidly to become a reputable international organization of leading research universities in the Pacific Rim. It organizes student-centric, research-centric and human capital development activities, and holds annual meetings for presidents and senior staff of the member universities to discuss and plan its future activities.

Starting April 2013, Tohoku University functions as a regional program hub for APRU’s Multi-Hazards Program in the next three years. Through training programs, summer schools, workshops and other activities provided within its framework, we will take a leading role in proposing countermeasures against low frequency high-impact disasters, making further contributions. For the details of APRU’s Multi-Hazards Program, please visit their website at http://aprumh.irides.tohoku.ac.jp/.

Upcoming Events
Past Events

List of past APRU events

Member Universities
Country and Area (Number of Institution(s))

Australia (4)Australian National University, University of Melbourne, University of Sydney, UNSW Australia
Canada (1)University of British Columbia
Chile (1)University of Chile
China and Hong Kong SAR (10)Fudan University, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Nanjing University, Peking University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Tsinghua University, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, University of Hong Kong, University of Science and Technology of China, Zhejiang University
Chinese Taipei (2)National Taiwan University , National Tsing Hua University
Indonesia (1)University of Indonesia
Japan (6)Keio University, Nagoya University, Osaka University, Tohoku University, University of Tokyo, Waseda University
Korea (5)KAIST, Korea University, POSTECH, Seoul National University, Yonsei University
Malaysia (1)University of Malaya
Mexico (1)Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education
New Zealand (1)University of Auckland
Philippines (1)University of the Philippines
Russia (1)Far Eastern Federal University
Singapore (2)
Nanyang Technological University, National University of Singapore
Thailand (1)Chulalongkorn University
USA (12)California Institute of Technology, Stanford University, University of California, Berkeley, University of California, Davis, University of California, Irvine, University of California, Los Angeles, University of California, San Diego, University of California, Santa Barbara, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, University of Oregon, University of Southern California, University of Washington

International Exchange Division
TEL: +81-22-217-5578/6182